A few weeks ago when the Trump administration proposed slashing NIH’s budget by 20%, I wrote both of my Senators to express outrage. Claire McCaskill sent back an almost immediate form letter of about the type you’d expect. Roy Blunt took longer to reply, but his was a little more than the usual boilerplate:

Dear Michael:

Thank you for contacting me regarding cancer research funding.  As a cancer survivor, I am well aware of the importance of increased funding for research to prevent and treat this brutal disease.

Last year, as Chairman of the Labor/HHS Appropriations Subcommittee, I was happy to provide a $2 billion funding increase for the National Institutes of Health (NIH), which funds the prevention, treatment, and research of some of our nation’s most life-threatening diseases like cancer and Alzheimer’s disease.  The same bill provided $5.4 billion for the National Cancer Institute, while maintaining funding for cancer screening and prevention programs.

As Chairman of the Labor/HHS Subcommittee, I am committed to providing resources that are crucial in helping people in Missouri and across our nation live longer, healthier lives.  As Congress continues to debate funding for programs related to cancer research, I will be sure to keep your thoughts in mind.

Again, thank you for contacting me. I look forward to continuing our conversation on Facebook and Twitter about the important issues facing Missouri and the country. I also encourage you to visit my website to learn more about where I stand on the issues and sign-up for my e-newsletter.

Sincere regards,

Roy Blunt
United States Senator

So, cheers Roy. I hope you do stand up for NIH’s budget when all the chips are on the table.

