IMG_5360On Wednesday I had another MRI.  As expected, it was clean.  The nearby image shows me (the Protagonist), along side images of my brain taken in April (far right), July (middle), and October (far left).  In the July image, you can see a halo of bright tissue in T2 FLAIR around the resection cavity.  These are normal post-surgical changes and may be protective.  You can also see that the October image is largely unchanged from July.  This is good news.  Or, rather, it’s not bad news, which is pretty much the same thing in my world.

And although it doesn’t mean I’m in the clear, the important thing is that it does show that the tumor (if any remains) isn’t doing anything surprising or aggressive half a year after my diagnosis/surgery. So, there’s every reason to be confident that I have a long time ahead of me to see whether all the lifestyle changes will help the “long cold war against cancer.”

Presently I’m reflecting on Winston Churchill’s comment that “there’s nothing more exhilarating than being shot at and missed.”  Perhaps that’s overly dramatic, but it is a strange condition when you get your life apportioned to you in three month intervals.  The release from tension is exquisite.  The next MRI is scheduled for early February.  Until then, real life for a while.

