I spent a lot of my time in Hawaii meditating on beaches; really, there’s no better place in the world for that sort of thing, except maybe the Japanese garden in the Missouri Botanical Garden.  If you’ve followed this blog consistently, you know that I’m a big fan of the Simonton’s relaxation / visualization approaches to countering cancer.  Many forms of meditation explicitly focus on the rhythm of your breaths; either counting each inhalation/exhalation, or being acutely mindful of the sensations of each breath.  It’s hardly a novel observation that the tide has a similar rhythm, with roughly the same frequency as slow breathing during meditation.  I started working that into my visualizations; I especially like the idea that the waves are relentless and extremely powerful over long periods of time.  If they can turn volcanic boulders into black sand beaches, there’s really nothing they can’t wear down.  With the hopes of giving my T-cells and NK cells a little pep talk, I made a short, semi-artsy video on Maui’s north shore which I link here:

I think it turned out well, although I did get some odd looks while recording this.  T-cells relentlessly wiping glioma away: there’s a productive image.  Or, perhaps the waves are a metaphor for the worldwide legion of physicians, surgeons, and researchers publishing two dozen papers per week on the subject of “glioma treatment.”  Godspeed.

I should also mention my growing conviction that the Pacific ocean has intrinsic healing properties.  Due in part to my over-zealous exercise program and some lousy shoes, I managed to give myself plantar fasciitis in my right foot, which has been nagging on-and-off for about a month.  One week on Maui wearing flip flops and walking on sand, and I’m declaring myself to be basically cured, which is a little odd, since the online consensus is that beaches and flip flops are the absolute last thing you want with plantar fasciitis.  Alternatively, maybe Pacific waters heal chronic injury.  A happy thought, considering that earlier in the week a freak wave spawned by tropical storm Kilo knocked me briefly to the ocean floor while I was standing in waist-deep water.  Every beach vacation should include at least one baptism in the ocean.

